The Awards 2015 du Cruising Club of America

logo burgee insert The Cruising Club of America (CCA) has announced the recipients of the organization’s five major awards for 2015:

The Blue Water Medal “Without Date” is awarded to Australian native Jon Sanders in recognition of a lifetime of sailing achievements, including nine circumnavigations;
the Blue Water Medal, awarded to British sailors Tom and Vicky Jackson, recognizes their extensive racing and cruising over more than 34 years;

the Far Horizons Award, awarded to Canadian sailors Kaspar and Trisha Schibli, recognizes a meritorious series of cruises aboard their yacht Starfire;

the Rod Stephens Trophy for Outstanding Seamanship is awarded to Canadian cruisers George Juri and Grit Chiu for their lifesaving rescue in critical conditions;

and the Richard S. Nye Trophy is awarded to John E. Sanford of Tiburon, Calif., for meritorious service to the CCA.

The award recipients will be celebrated at the CCA’s annual Awards Dinner at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan on March 4, 2016.

Blue Water Medal “Without Date” Awarded to Jon Sanders

Jon Sanders 2

Since the award’s establishment in 1923, the CCA has presented the Blue Water Medal “Without Date” only five times. The award is to recognize “a meritorious example of seamanship” that ranges over a lifetime of achievement. Jon Sanders, a native of Perth, Australia, was cited for his nine circumnavigations – eight of them solo, including a single “three times around” voyage, and one crewed – and a lifetime of significant contributions to sailing.   For more on Jon Sanders, please click here.

Tom and Vicky Jackson

Tom and Vicky Jackson,


Blue Water Medal Awarded to Tom and Vicky Jackson

Tom and Vicky Jackson, recipients of the CCA Blue Water Medal

Established in 1923, the Blue Water Medal recognizes “a meritorious example of seamanship.”

The CCA has selected British sailors Tom and Vicky Jackson to receive its 2015 award in recognition of the extensive cruising and racing they have done aboard their 40’ Sparkman & Stephens-designed Sunstone over the past 34 years. Including a circumnavigation, they have covered close to 200,000 miles on the now nearly 50-year-old sloop. For more about the Jacksons, who met while crewing together in the Fastnet Race, please click here.

Far Horizons Award Goes to Kaspar and Trisha Schibli

Kaspar and Trisha Schibli

Kaspar and Trisha Schibli, recipients of the CCA Far Horizon Award

The CCA’s Far Horizon Award was established 2005 to recognize “a particularly meritorious cruise or series of cruises that exemplify the objects of the Club as stated in its Constitution.” Kaspar and Trisha Schibli of Victoria, British Columbia, were cited for their extensive offshore cruising, including, specifically, their current multi-ocean cruise which they began having already accomplished a five-year 50,000 mile circumnavigation.
For more on the Schiblis, please click here.

George Juri and Grit Chiu

George Juri and Grit Chiu

George Juri and Grit Chiu, recipients of CCA’s 2015 Rod Stephens Trophy

The Rod Stephens Trophy for Outstanding Seamanship was established in 2000 “for an act of seamanship that significantly contributes to the safety of a yacht or one or more individuals at sea.” Canadian cruisers George Juri and Grit Chiu were cited for their short-handed rescue in extremely difficult weather conditions of a man found floating offshore in the waters of Southeast Asia. The man had been in the water for four days following the sinking of a work barge off Phuket. For more on Juri and Chiu’s rescue, please click here.

Richard S. Nye Trophy Awarded to John E. Sanford

John Sanford
The CCA’s Richard S. Nye Trophy was established in 1978 to recognize a member “who has brought distinction to the Club by meritorious service, outstanding seamanship, outstanding performance in long distance cruising or racing, statesmanship in the affairs of international racing, or any combination of the above.” John E. Sanford of Tiburon, Calif., was cited for meritorious service to the CCA and the San Francisco Station over a period of 34 years, continuously participating in CCA activities since becoming a member in 1981, including as Rear Commodore of CCA’s San Francisco station which organized and managed the successful 1999 Club cruise to New Zealand. For more on Sanford’s contributions to the CCA, please click here.

About the Cruising Club of America

The Cruising Club of America is dedicated to offshore cruising, voyaging and the “adventurous use of the sea” through efforts to improve seamanship, the design of seaworthy yachts, safe yachting procedures and environmental awareness. Founded in 1922, the Club has 11 stations throughout the U.S., Canada and Bermuda, with approximately 1200 members who are qualified by their experience in offshore passage making.  In even-numbered years, the CCA organizes the Newport Bermuda Race in conjunction with the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club. For more information on the CCA, go to

    Imprimer Commenter Partager

    Laisser un commentaire

    Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.